Posted in Cards

DIY Pop-Up Birthday Card


My mom’s birthday is right around the corner, so I decided to make a tutorial for all those whose friends and family have summer birthdays.

MATERIALS:

  • Paper trimmer
  • Sciccors 
  • Exacto knife/Craft knife
  • Brazil Basics Paper
  • Colored paper
  • Markers
  • Pen/Pencil

1.  Trim your Brazzil Basics paper to your desired size. Always remember to trim off the tag!

2. Lightly mark your paper so you have an idea of where you will cut your pop up cake.


3. Cut out the area you have marked.

4. Open your card, and push the paper in the middle of the slits you cut with your finger towards you from the back of the card. Repeat this step for the bottom one. I hope you know what I mean. Maybe the picture will help you out…?


5. Fold your normal colored paper in half and lay your card on top. Make sure their spines are both lined up so that you can trace the missing area from the cake.


6. Cut out the shape. You should now have two rectangles.

7. Glue the two rectangles onto their matching. little. pop-up. thingies.


8.  You are now ready to decorate your card! Here are some things I did:

  • I cut out some paper to make ‘frosting’ for the cake
  • For the cover, I cut out an ‘H’ and a ‘B’ from regular colored paper and suck some cardboard on the make them look 3Dish. Then I glued the letters onto the front of the card and wrote ‘happy birthday’, with the ‘H’ and the ‘B’ being the things I just made.
  • I cut out a frame and wrote ‘D’ in it, so I could finish the word dear and Editwrite ‘dear mom,…’


9. One you are happy with your work, all you gotta do is put it on a gift box, wrap it, and you are done!

I put a lot of effort into this card and I hope you guys will be able to appreciate it and maybe even make it yourself. Can’t wait to give it to my mom!

Bye!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

